Search HP


Nigel Hutchinson-Brooks

Hon. Treasurer

Nigel Hutchinson-Brooks was educated at Huntingtower’s sister school, Claremont Fan Court, and at Reading University. He held senior executive positions in the State Government and in the Transport, Banking, Property and Aviation industries. Nigel served as a Councillor at the City of Waverley and as Councillor and Mayor of the South Gippsland Shire Council. He has run his own property consulting business since 1992. He joined the Huntingtower Board in 1987, serving as Chairman from 1999 – 2002. He has served as the Hon. Treasurer since 2003.

John Bruce

Board Member

John Bruce was educated at Huntingtower, Melbourne Grammar and RMIT. As an architect he oversaw the administration of the construction of major hospital and commercial projects in Victoria and interstate. His work has also included commercial projects, two retirement villages, churches and residential projects. From 1975 to 2015 he designed all Huntingtower building projects and acted in an honorary capacity as Construction Manager to enable the school to build as ‘owner builder’- leading to major cost savings. A member of the Huntingtower Board for many years, John’s four children and six of his grandchildren have all attended Huntingtower.

Pauline Hutchinson

Board Member

Mrs Hutchinson’s professional experience includes 33 years with the W.A. Education Department in the roles of teacher, Deputy Principal, Principal and Superintendent of Equal Opportunity. She also taught for a year at Huntingtower and is now a Christian Science Practitioner.

She has one daughter and 2 grandchildren. Other interests include church work, gardening, bird watching and reading.

Claudia Banks

Board Member

Steven Cramer

Board Member

Amanda Dunsmore

Board Member

Peter Thompson

Board Member

Wendy Verhagen

Board Member

Wendy is a past student and teacher of Huntingtower. She has served on the Huntingtower Board since 2006 and has also served on the boards of Huntingdale Technical School and Genesis. Her service on the Huntingtower and Genesis Boards includes time as Chairman. Wendy started and served as Chairman for Winnaccom, a very successful organisation designed to provide accommodation for children with a disability.

Married for over 30 years, Wendy is proud of the accomplishments of her children. Her eldest son lectures at RMIT and her two younger sons attended special schools. They now work full time at Waverley Industries.

David Weil

Board President

Sholto Bowen OAM

School Principal

Mr Bowen attended Parktown Boys High in Johannesburg and completed his tertiary studies at the Johannesburg College of Education, the University of the Witwatersrand and the Rand Africaans University. He was Head of Science and Senior Master (Administration) at St Stithians College, Johannesburg, before commencing teaching at Huntingtower in 1987.

At Huntingtower, Mr Bowen undertook a number of roles before being appointed Vice Principal and then Principal in 1999. Mr Bowen has been a Board Member of the Association of Heads of Independent Schools since 2013 and has served as the Chair of this association from 2013-2015. He was also an Executive Member in 2013-2014 and 2004-2010. He was President of the Eastern Independent Schools of Melbourne in 2005 and 2006, serving as Vice President from 2003-2004 and 2011-2012.

He is President and Co-Founder of the International Association of Schools based on Christian Science. He is a founding Board Member of Elevating Education Everywhere (E3), formed in 2013 to support Christian Science based schools around the world, particularly in impoverished areas of Africa and South East Asia. He was also a Board Member of the Sunrise of Africa School in Kenya.

In 2014, Mr Bowen was presented with an Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL) Fellowship Award. An ACEL Fellowship (FACEL) is a special category of membership awarded to members who have made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of student and organisational outcomes.

In 2015, Mr Bowen was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for his service to secondary education and to professional organisations.

  77 Waimarie Drive, Mount Waverley, Victoria, 3149, Australia

Call or email for information: +61 3 9807 8888 | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

  77 Waimarie Drive, Mount Waverley, Victoria, 3149, Australia

Call or email for information: +61 3 9807 8888 | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

© 2018 Huntingtower School

© 2018 Huntingtower School || Child Safety Policy || Privacy Policy